Instagram is a treasure trove of personal data. So naturally, there is a way to prevent people whom you do not want to access your account. But what if you were blocked by accident? Or by someone you do not even know? Is there a way to unblock yourself on the app? Here is everything you need to know.

What is the ‘block’ function on Instagram?

Instagram has a setting that lets you block another user. This is helpful if you want to keep your profile private form the person, but do not want them to know that. This way you can add the person as a friend, but then block their account. A blocked account cannot view the posts or stories posted from your account.

However, the blocked account can see your Posts, Followers, and Following count on your profile. Instagram does not notify the user when you block them. This means there is no actual way to find out if your account has been blocked. However, one effect of blocking is that you can no longer search for the account. So if the person tries to search for your account and does not see it, it could indicate to them that they have been blocked by you.

Related: How to Turn off Instagram DMs

Can you unblock yourself on Instagram?

Unfortunately, there is currently no way to unblock yourself if you have been blocked by a user on Instagram. This goes against the whole point of the block function, so there are no workarounds either. Be wary of third-party apps that claim to do so, as Instagram has made it completely impossible to unblock yourself.

ALSO READ  The Best Subscription Boxes for Vinyl Collectors – Review Geek

While there is a trick (that we will cover below) to view the account that has blocked you, there is no way to circumvent that block. If someone has blocked you on Instagram, only that person has the power to unblock you.

Related: What is ‘No Posts Yet’ on Instagram?

How to unblock a person on Instagram

If you have blocked an account on Instagram, you can no longer search for that account. That means you cannot unblock the account by visiting it. However, Instagram generates a list of all the accounts that you have blocked so that you can easily unblock them at a later stage. Follow this guide to unblock an account that you have blocked on Instagram.

Launch the Instagram app, and go to your profile by tapping your profile picture in the bottom panel. Now tap the hamburger menu in the top right corner and go to ‘Settings’.

Go to ‘Privacy’ then ‘Blocked Accounts’.

Tap ‘Unblock’ beside the account that you would like to unblock. You will have to reconfirm it again.

As soon as you unblock the account, they will be able to search for your account and view your posts and stories.

Related: Top 2 ways to See Who Unfollowed You On Instagram

How to block a person who has already blocked you on Instagram?

As mentioned above, when someone blocks you on Instagram, you can no longer find that person’s account if you search for it. In fact, even comments that they may have left on your posts will disappear. So technically, there is no way of blocking them.

ALSO READ  Hulu’s “The Great” Is Hard to Watch and Hard to Stop Watching – Review Geek

However, there is a trick that you can use to view their account, even though they have blocked you. This only works if you have a DM from the person.

Launch the Instagram app and swipe left to reach your DMs (or tap the DM button in the top right corner). Now locate the chat with the person that has already blocked you. When a person blocks you, their DMs do not disappear.

Tap on the ‘i’ in the top right corner then select ‘Block Account’.

You are now mutually blocked on Instagram.

At this time, there is no way to unblock yourself if someone has blocked you on Instagram. The only thing you can do is ask the person to unblock you using another app (since you cannot send DMs if you are blocked). We hope this article helped. If you have any queries, feel free to reach out to us in the comments below. 

Related:



READ SOURCE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here