Spotify logo vertical with text on black

Stopped using Spotify and switched to another service? If you don’t want to keep your account dormant, you can permanently close your Spotify account. Here’s how you can delete your Spotify account in a couple of clicks.

You can delete your Spotify account from a web browser on your smartphone or from your computer. The option is not available on mobile or desktop apps.

Keep in mind that once you delete your Spotify account, you’ll lose all your playlists and your followers. If you have a student discount, you won’t be able to use it for another year.

RELATED: How to Cancel Spotify Premium

Because of the way that Spotify works, you won’t be able to claim the same username again either, but you can create a new account with the same email address. If you don’t want to delete your Spotify account, you can simply cancel your Spotify Premium membership as well.

Once you’ve gone over all the details and are sure that you want to permanently delete your Spotify account, open the Spotify website in your browser of choice and log in to your account.

Next, open Spotify’s Customer Support page. Here, click the “Account” button.

Click Account from Spotify Customer Support page

Select the “I Want To Close My Account” option.

Click I Want to Close My Account

From the next section, click the “Close Account” button.

Click Close Account

Select the “Close Account” button again.

Confirm by clicking Close Account button

Spotify will now ask you to confirm the details of the account. Once you’ve made sure that it’s the right account, click the “Continue” button.

Check account details and click Continue

From the next step, select the checkmark next to the “I Understand” option and then click the “Continue” button.

ALSO READ  How to Automatically Delete Signal Messages to Save Storage Space « Android :: Gadget Hacks

Click I Understand and then choose Continue button

Spotify will ask you to check your email for a link. Open your inbox and find the email from Spotify. Click the “Close My Account” button found in the email. This link is only valid for 24 hours.

Click Close My Account from Email

Once you click the button, Spotify will open a new tab, and you’ll see a confirmation that your account has been closed and deleted. You won’t be able to log in with the same account anymore.

Spotify account closed and permenantly deleted

If you change your mind, you have 7 days to reactivate your account. You’ll find the link to do this in your inbox.

Click Reactivate My Account from Email


Looking for a Spotify alternative? Check out our list of the best free music-streaming services.

RELATED: The Best Sites for Streaming Free Music





READ SOURCE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here