Wednesday, April 17, 2024
AndroidSmart Phones

Oppo Find N2 review: The best is not good enough for US


The Oppo Find N2 could establish itself as the star among foldable smartphones with its unique form factor. However, for reasons unknown to us, the OnePlus parent company would rather sell the Oppo Find N2 Flip internationally and jump on Samsung’s success train of clamshell foldables. Nevertheless, we had the “middle ground” between Fold and Flip delivered to the NextPit editorial office and tested it in detail.

Good

  • Ingenious form factor (for now)
  • Competent battery
  • Performance more than sufficient
  • Ample memory
  • Outstanding main camera

Bad

  • No wireless charging
  • No IP certification
  • Software underutilizes form factor
  • Somehow still expensive

Oppo Find N2 in a nutshell

It is no big secret: The Oppo Find N2 follows its predecessor, the Oppo Find N, into Chinese exclusivity. Instead, the Oppo Find N2 Flip, which was introduced in China at the same time, will be offered for sale in Europe and other western markets. Only the company knows why the BBK subsidiary wants to enter the global folding competition with the clamshell foldable of all things. In my opinion, an entry with the Oppo Find N2’s unique form factor would have been much easier and more competitive.

Oppo Find N2
The Oppo Find N2 will officially only be available in China – not for us! / © NextPit

If you still don’t want to be told which foldable smartphone is right for you, TradingShenzhen is there to help you outside of China. The Oppo Find N2 is available in white, green, and black. The latter is available with imitation leather, the other two with a glass back. The storage options are 12/256 GB or 16/512 GB. The Chinese price is 7,999 yuan and 8,999 yuan, respectively, which is approximately 1,180 and 1,330 dollars depending on the exchange rate.

At TradingShenzhen, you currently pay (as of 01/29/2013) 1,457 Euros for the base model or 1,579 Euros for the full configuration.

It is currently unknown whether the Oppo Find N2 will be sold outside of China at a later point in time.

Design & Display

Everybody says that the Oppo Find N2 has a special form factor. However, the aluminum frame with its volume rocker and the combined power and standby button including the fingerprint sensor on the right side is not what people mean by that, even though it is of course chic.

What you might not immediately notice in a photo of the Oppo Find N2 is the striking difference in size compared to a “normal” smartphone. If we take my OnePlus 9 Pro and the Oppo Find N2 side by side in this example, the significantly smaller dimensions of 132.2 × 72.6 millimeters of the N2 directly catch the eye.

What I liked:

  • Pleasant form factor.
  • Very good display properties.
  • High-quality workmanship.
  • Full-fledged AOD display.

What I disliked:

  • No IP certification.
  • Fierce folding edge.
  • Frequent unintentional contact with the fingerprint sensor.
Oppo Find N2
The Oppo Find N2 once compared in size with the OnePlus 9 Pro. / © NextPit

Of course, the folded Find N2 is more than twice as thick as a conventional smartphone at 14.6 millimeters. The competition—most recently with the Xiaomi Mix Fold 2 tested by Antoine and its “thickness” of 11.2 millimeters—does that much better. The weight of the N2 is 237 grams, which is not much heavier than a conventional smartphone.

But before I go on to praise how well-made the Oppo Find N2 is, I will ask the real question about this foldable smartphone: What makes our test candidate so special?

Screenshot vom Oppo Find N2
Thank you smartphone god! Finally a small display / © NextPit

It is bigger than a Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 4 (review) or Motorola Razr 2022 (review) and smaller than a Galaxy Fold 4 (review) or Xiaomi Mix Fold 2. In detail, it has a 5.54-inch AMOLED display in 18:9 format on the outside. The resolution is 2,120 × 1,080 pixels at a maximum of 120 frames per second and is protected by Corning Gorilla Glass Victus. The maximum brightness is 1,000 nits, and even 1,350 nits at peak. Thus, our outdoor display is a full-fledged display, which the clamshell foldables simply lack.

The Find N2 only shows its full potential when opened.

On the inside, we find a 7.1-inch AMOLED panel—opened to 132.2 × 140.5 millimeters. It offers room for 1,792 × 1,920 pixels (370 PPI), which can even be brightened up to 1,550 nits in peak (normal: 1,200 nits). The refresh rate is automatically regulated between 1 and 120 hertz by the LTPO technology if desired, which definitely benefits the power consumption. The aspect ratio is 14:15, so it is a tad wider than tall.

Oppo Find N2
It looks square – but it isn’t. / © NextPit

But this tick is definitely noticeable when using YouTube, for example. Those who read my first hasty review will remember that I was thrilled by the feature that the N2 provides a video at the top and the comment area underneath at the same time. However, it is only turned to the right. This is because the “longer” edge of the panel has to be in landscape mode. This also has the disadvantage that the stereo speakers, whose sound I would describe as average and not too loud, are partially covered by the left hand. They no longer radiate downwards but to the left (or right) side.

I don’t want to and can’t beat around the bush any longer at this point: Both displays offer a high contrast and dynamic range, the brightness also copes with direct sunlight, and the viewing angle stability of both screens is also outstanding. But I am missing the big “wow” factor, the one that justifies the hole of almost $1,400  in the household budget.

No question: Once you get used to dual screens, the N2 plays out its advantages mercilessly, since it is not as unwieldy as a typical foldable phone. The “small” display works for quick tasks and the “big daddy” when you have two (or more) applications open at the same time for productivity tasks. People with big hands will probably be able to use the device with only one hand.

Screenshot vom Oppo Find N2
You just have to know how to use the space wisely. / © NextPit

A clamshell foldable doesn’t have this large display. Its display is simply as big as that of a conventional smartphone. At least on the Motorola Razr 2022—the Flip 4 is a bit too narrow for that. My concerns have probably become clear so far: The Oppo Find N2 is ultimately just a compromise— albeit an expensive one.

One final sentence: Despite the improved hinge, which can stay in any position, there is a clearly visible and noticeable folded crease, which was not present in the predecessor.

Oppo Find N2
Are you serious about this folded crease, Oppo? You have done it better / © NextPit

Software: ColorOS 13.0

The Oppo Find N2 came to us in the NextPit editorial office with ColorOS 13.0 based on Android 13. The Google security patch is dated December 5, 2022 (as of 01/28/2013). According to recent reveals, the company grants five years of security updates and four Android operating system upgrades.

What I liked:

  • Basic Android 13 on board.
  • In principle, a good update policy.
  • The attempt of specially optimized software.
  • More languages to choose from.
  • Full HD streaming support.

What I disliked:

  • No western support.
  • Too few flex mode features.

Everyone who is thinking about getting the Find N2 will probably ask themselves the crucial question: Is my language available for the operating system and can I uninstall the useless applications that are exclusively written in Chinese characters? The N2 is quite well positioned in terms of languages from the factory. Besides traditional Chinese and English, we were surprised to find French, Japanese, Arabic, Vietnamese, Russian among others in the language selection..

Screenshot vom Oppo Find N2
They could have been more creative with the “Flex Mode”, after all, they had a year’s time! / © NextPit

As far as the software is concerned, I have to say basically the same thing that I complained about last year with the first Find-Foldable: There is definitely too little software that has been optimized for Western needs. That would of course be understandable for a smartphone, which is also not intended for the global market.

I found a total of five applications that specifically support the 90-degree mode (FlexForm) and then, of course, except for the camera app, they are all only available in Chinese. In this context, it should be mentioned that almost all pre-installed apps can be uninstalled, though.

Screenshot vom Oppo Find N2
The FlexForm mode can also be used for other applications. / © NextPit
Screenshot vom Oppo Find N2
Pre-installed applications can mostly be uninstalled without any problems. / © NextPit

With the Google Mobile Services (GMS) including Google Play Store preinstalled by TradingShenzhen, nothing stands in the way of accessing the general app world—unlike Huawei. Both the SafetyNet and DRM (Digital Rights Management) tests have been passed and show Widevine L1 certification and approval for contactless payment via Google Pay (Google Wallet).

Screenshot vom Oppo Find N2
Thanks to Widevine L1, you can consume Netflix and Amazon Prime Video in HD resolution with the Oppo Find N2. / © NextPit

Oppo Find N2 performance

Oppo’s Find N2 has a Snapdragon 8+ Gen 1 installed. The octa-core processor is not from the latest Californian generation, as the 8 Gen 2 is already used in the
Xiaomi 13 and 13 Pro. However, the Qualcomm processor with the Adreno 730 GPU (Graphics Processing Unit) is perfectly sufficient now and for many months to come. Even more so, since the Plus variant installed here is already known as a power-efficient and relatively cool chip.

What I liked:

  • Snapdragon 8+ Gen 1 delivers.
  • Plenty of memory.
  • Equipped with LTE band 20.

What I disliked:

Screenshot vom Oppo Find N2
You won’t complain about too little memory or performance on the N2 anytime soon. / © NextPit

And what can I say—even on a foldable, you can and should probably also game properly. It won’t surprise anyone that neither the processor nor the 16 GB RAM with its 512 GB internal UFS 3.1 ROM put a spoke in the proud owner’s wheel here. Of course, there is also a slightly smaller version of the N2 for “smart spenders”, which comes with 12 GB of RAM and 256 GB of storage. It is questionable whether a missing microSD card slot is really a disadvantage in view of the available selection.

The N2 never let me down in terms of performance. The aforementioned heat development was also within limits, although it should be mentioned to Oppo’s advantage that our test sample is adorned with an imitation leather finish.

Screenshot vom Oppo Find N2
The Oppo Find N2 keeps within the temperature range thanks to Snapdragon 8+ Gen 1. / © NextPit

For hard facts, we have the 3D Mark Wild Live and Geekbench test. For the first test, the Find N2 has too much power right away. It can clearly emerge as the winner in the stress test, and then only just has to admit defeat to the Galaxy Z Fold 4 in Geekbench 5.

  Oppo Find N2 Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 4 Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 3 Huawei Mate XS 2
3D Mark Wild Life Maxed Out! 8611 5683 5793
3D Mark Wild Life Stress Test Best loop: 10389
Worst loop: 6459
Best loop: 10332
Worst loop: 5606
Best loop: 5579
Worst loop: 3435
Best loop: 5782
Worst loop: 3267
Geekbench 5 Single: 1046
Multi: 3556
Simple: 1332
Multi: 3947
Single: 1095
Multi: 3239
Single: 840
Multi: 2759

Oppo Find N2 camera

It did not really take long for the industry to provide decent camera hardware in the foldable smartphone sector as well. In the case of the Oppo Find N2, it is a 32 MP front-facing camera with a 1/3.14 inch image sensor, 22 mm equivalent focal length and an aperture of f/2.4 for the two displays alone. That is quite an announcement – but after all, the traditional Swedish name Hasselblad is at stake.

What I liked:

  • Terrific photo results for a foldable.
  • Decent front cameras.
  • The MariSilicon X image-NPU.
  • 4K video at 60 fps.

What I disliked:

  • No 8K video.
  • Only 2x optical zoom.
Oppo Find N2
Both front cameras offer a resolution of 32 million pixels each! / © NextPit

Things continue convincingly on the back as well: the triple camera with the Hasselblad logo offers a 48-MP ultra-wide-angle camera with a field of view of 115 degrees and an equivalent focal length of 14 mm at the very top. Below that is the 50-MP main camera with a 1/1.56-inch sensor that creates an equivalent focal length of 24 mm at a maximum aperture of f/1.8.

And next to the two vertically arranged “big” optics is the 32-MP telephoto zoom camera with an aperture of f/2.0 and an equivalent focal length of 47 mm. Oppo grants a 2x lossless zoom with the camera, digitally this goes up to a 20x magnification.

Oppo Find N2 Hauptkamera
The Oppo Find N2 has a triple camera on the back in cooperation with Hasselblad. / © NextPit

While the ultra-wide-angle camera also takes care of macro shots, the telephoto camera reports for futy on portrait shots. Oppo has once again installed the MariSilicon X processor in its second-generation foldable. We were already impressed by it in our review of the Oppo Find X5 Pro. The (NPU) is primarily responsible for night recordings (videos and photos) as well as the lossless 20-bit RAW processing.

Tafel mit den technischen Daten des Oppo MariSilicon X Prozessors
The Oppo MariSilicon X processor is supposed to work wonders for night shots in particular. / © Oppo

Unfortunately, this test takes place at a more than unfavorable time in terms of weather. No sun, no blue sky, and nature does not have much in the way of colors to offer otherwise. We have taken great pains to publish a small portfolio of test pictures so that you can get a first impression of the Oppo Find N2’s really good camera features.

Nevertheless, it is easy to see that the camera can get quite a bit out of it, especially in the field of low-light shots. Daytime shots, wide-angle, color fidelity, contrast, dynamics, and even macro shots succeed anyway. It is a shame to take test photos in this weather, but the foldable unfortunately has to move on.

Oppo Find N2 battery

The Oppo Find N2 has a 4,520 mAh battery installed. These are not world records; but more than the
Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 4 with its 4,400 mAh and more than the predecessor, which is equipped with 4,500 mAh. Admittedly, I would have hoped for a bigger increase, but definitely not a drop in the feature set. But wireless charging and reverse charging have been done away with in the 2023 foldable.

What I liked:

  • Large 4,520 mAh battery.
  • 67-watt power supply.

What I disliked:

  • No wireless charging.
  • Charging takes longer than advertised.

What’s in return? The Find N2 can now charge twice as fast. The 67-watt SuperVOOC power supply catapults the foldable smartphone from 0 to 100 percent battery capacity within exactly 60 minutes. That actually surprised me a bit, since Oppo advertises 42 minutes for the full charge. But after said time, it was just over 60 percent of the total battery capacity on my review unit.

The “PCMark Work 3.0 Battery Life” test did not run quite as smoothly either. With two displays, O thought to itself, I would have to do two different battery benchmarks—once for the display inside and once for outside. Using the inner panel, which by the way had to be turned down much further to reach the required 200 nits, I reached 11 hours and 31 minutes in the test—starting from 80 percent. I had problems with the stability of the battery benchmark in the test. Starting from 80 percent, eleven and a half hours is a very decent value—and that is also in line with my daily use.

Oppo Find N2
Oppo uses a 67-watt SuperVOOC power supply and makes the Galaxy Z Fold 4 look old. / © NextPit

The outdoor display, on the other hand, managed a whopping 13 hours and 44 minutes. In conclusion, however, it has to be noted negatively that the loss of wireless charging is annoying, especially since the predecessor was still able to do that and there is no adequate replacement, such as a much bigger battery. Again, an official explanation for the loss was not available. In fact, wireless charging is still an exception for a foldable and it does not really need it, since it easily gets through the day. But as the saying goes: Better to have than to need.

Oppo Find N2 technical specifications

  Technical data
Device
Image
Oppo Find N2
Internal screen 7.1-inch AMOLED, resolution 1,792 x 1,920 pixels, 120-hertz refresh rate (LTPO)
1,200 nits (HBM), 1,550 nits (peak)
Outer screen 5.54-inch AMOLED, resolution 2,120 x 1,080 pixels, 120-hertz refresh rate
1,000 nits (HBM), 1,350 nits (peak) – Corning Gorilla Glass Victus
Dimensions opened: 132.2 x 140.5 x 7.4 mm (H x W x D)
closed: 132.2 x 72.6 x 14.6 mm (H x W x D)
Weight 233 g (incl. battery) imitation leather
237 g (incl. battery) Corning Gorilla Glass
SoC Qualcomm Snapdragon 8+ Gen1 (TSMC N4)
Memory 12/16 GB RAM
256/512 GB UFS 3.1 ROM
Software Android 13 | ColorOS 13.0
Expandable memory None
Main camera 50 MP | f1.8 aperture | 1/1.56 inch image sensor | 1.0 µm pixel size | OIS | PDAF
(Quad pixel binning 12.5 MP/2.0 µm)
24 mm equivalent focal length
Ultra-wide-angle camera 48 MP | f/2.2 aperture | | 0.8 µm pixel size | 115° viewing angle |
14 mm equivalent focal length
Telephoto camera 32 MP | f/2.0 aperture | 1/2.74 inch image sensor | 0.8 µm pixel size | PDAF
47 mm equivalent focal length | 2x optical zoom
Selfie inside 32 MP | f/2.4 | 1/3.14 inch Image Sensor
22 mm equivalent focal length
Selfie outside 32 MP | f/2.4 | 0.7 µm Pixel Size (Quad Pixel Binning 8 MP/1.4 µm)
Video (main camera)
Video (front camera)
4K at 30/60 fps | 1080p at 30/60/240 fps | Gyro-EIS | HDR
1080p 30 fps | Gyro-EIS
Audio Stereo Speaker | Dolby Atmos
Battery 4,520 mAh
Charging via cable Max. 67 W
Wireless charging (Qi) No
UWB No

Final verdict

I beg your pardon? Only 3.5 stars for a smartphone that is praised to the skies in every corner? Yes, I admit that it is a bit incomprehensible under certain circumstances. But the crux is not so much the smartphone itself; i.e. that an IP certification, an audio jack or a microSD card slot are missing, for example. The displays inside and outside are also very convincing, the performance is sufficient, the memory can be accessed to a sufficient extent, and I am also satisfied with the battery capacity and charging speed.

Oppo Find N2
The test verdict is not easy despite the unique form factor! / © NextPit

Even the Hasselblad camera is fundamentally convincing. But in my opinion, Oppo does too little with this – and now for the last time – genius form factor. There would have been a lot more here in terms of how the almost square folding display could have been used. Of course, it is a smartphone that is only officially available in China. But even for Chinese standards, the five optimized applications are simply too few for me.

Once you have found a few applications that you can ideally use on the “big” screen at the same time, the decision to buy the Oppo Find N2 is justified. Because the fully functional 5.5-inch “small” outdoor display reliably takes care of all other tasks. If that is not the case, wait until the foldables get significantly thinner. Otherwise, the bulge in the trouser pocket might also be a burden in everyday life.

Oppo Find N2 Hauptkamera
There is enough room for the Oppo Find N2 to be safely stored in the front pocket of an average pair of men’s jeans. / © NextPit



READ SOURCE

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.